Skip to content

It is time to stop questioning and time to absorb the words

August 30, 2012

? by Flickr user: florianmarquartEverywhere I go, I question.

I walk down the street and I question the intent of those that walk past me. I receive a bill, I will read through it and decide whether it represents my actual spending or usage or whether I need to investigate the figures I see on the page.

I watch the news on television and I question who is the owner of this particular channel that I am watching, what is their greater agenda and how does that impact upon the interpretation that I am receiving.

If am given a diagnosis, I will explore it further.

If I am given a book to read, I will question: who else likes it, what do the reviews say, can I rely on these reviews, how many star ratings did it get, who is the author, do I like the values that they stand for, do I want to continue reading a book when I find out the author has behaved in questionable ways, whether it is trying to pass fiction off as a memoir, whether it is to try to garner high rankings on review sites by paying for reviewers or upon finding out that their personal lives are a sordid mess of affairs.

And that is the moment that I distance the creator from the creation. I stop questioning the intent. I don’t investigate the production. For there are times that I want to forget the relationship that anyone else has had with a written work. That it is time to stop questioning and allow myself to absorb the words in front of me and discover my own relationship with the text.

Vassiliki

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

