Skip to content

Simply dreaming

June 23, 2012

Life just gets too complicated sometimes and I dream of the simple life.  I am disgruntled at pushing my trolley around the supermarket to choose a variety of processed foods that I do not really want to feed my family.  I am tired of the materialistic views of our society and pressure to buy more to show our success.  I am sick of the lack of time to mend, recycle, or grow vegetables and fruit.
Hens exploring new digs
I dream of self sufficiency.  Fortunately I am not the only one with this yearning and there is much material written on the subject to encourage any ‘back to basics enthusiast’ in 2012.

Blogs on the subject are plentiful but I recently stumbled on a delightful one written by Rhonda Hertzel called Down to Earth.  She is a retired grandmother who, with her husband, lives in Queensland and has been living the simple life for the past 10 years and blogging a journal of her daily activities.  For those that love the blog she has recently produced a book of the same name.

Books, and magazines that have inspired my dream of a simple life include……..

The list could go on but let’s keep it simple.  Grab some reading and dream about this wonderful uncomplicated life and be happy.

To find the universal elements enough; to find the air and the water exhilarating; to be refreshed by a morning walk or an evening saunter… to be thrilled by the stars at night; to be elated over a bird’s nest or a wildflower in spring – these are some of the rewards of the simple life.  ~John Burroughs

Jenny

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

