Skip to content

The stuff of nightmares

June 19, 2012

I am a highly emotional person. I laugh easily and often, tears are always just under the surface. I get very involved in what I read (and watch) so there are some books I have come away from with an intense feeling of dislike because they made me either too scared or terribly depressed. Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance is my least favourite of all the books I have finished (I’m sure I have started books I have disliked more but did not persevere with them) because the ending was so wrist-slittingly depressing. You often find it on a top 100 list.

Stephen King’s horror books are also favourites for many and I did read them as a teenager but what I liked about them was not the scary story but the way he wrote about American life. I rather lost my taste for America once I hit my twenties, and do not enjoy being scared, so haven’t read Stephen King since, though I have very much enjoyed quotes attributed to him about Harry Potter!

If you like to be frightened, there are so many options!

Dystopia

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

1984 by George Orwell

Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

Horror

The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: the classic regency romance – now with ultra-violent zombie mayhem by Seth Grahame-Smith

Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

Forever Odd by Dean Koontz

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Don’t get me started on movies, I can’t watch those or I’d never sleep!

Which stories have frightened you?

Amy

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 20, 2012 4:35 am

    ‘Salem’s Lot’ was the last Stephen King I read and scared me so much I never read another – with the exception of his brilliant ‘On Writing’ and I’ve heard his latest is ok to venture into as well. But that’s it, I can’t do scary books or scary movies, they push all my sensitive buttons and make me exrtremely uncomfortable – not what I’m looking for in entertainment value! I couldn’t watch ‘Lord of the Rings’ after the first one for the same reason – I scare the people who aren’t scared of the movie with my reactions 🙂

Leave a Reply

