Skip to content

In your dreams

June 12, 2012

My dream is to be paid to read while drinking tea and coffee. Too much to ask? Being a librarian is surely the next best thing – tea and coffee abound and I am surrounded by books, even if I don’t, exactly, get paid to read them. When the pressures of work and family start to increase our stress levels, we all want to go to our happy place and my happy place is found in books (and sometimes the film/miniseries versions thereof)!

If comfort is what I am after, an old favourite is what I need. Here is a list of the books that are guaranteed to take me to my happy place:

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Everything by Jane Austen

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Anything by C.S. Lewis

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

The Children’s Book by A.S. Byatt

A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth

Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Love in a Cold Climate by Nancy Mitford

Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh

The Grass Harp by Truman Capote.

I had better stop there before I get carried away with dreaming and am of no use for the rest of the day at work.

Which books take you to your happy place?

Amy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

