Skip to content

The Very Cranky Bear and National Simultaneous Storytime

April 5, 2012

National Simultaneous Storytime and The Very Cranky Bear

I was so excited to see that The Very Cranky Bear by Nick Bland was chosen as this year’s National Simultaneous Storytime book. There is something fabulous about a storytime session where kids are asked to be cranky. A key word in picture books for many storytime selections is “ROAR”. Oh! the beauty of 50 plus kids being asked to roar loudly. The screaming, shouting, teeth gnashing cacophony that ensues. The freedom those kids feel at being able to express anger always thrills me. And with The Very Cranky Bear, the opportunity to “Roar” loudly will definitely be there.

When I first read the book, I thought it was a funny read. Then last week I bought the Very Cranky Bear app and I have had even more fun. I particularly love that I get to record myself reading the story and then hear it being played back to me. My recorded roar does not sound anywhere near as impressive as what I thought it would. I will have to work on it a bit more. My only frustration is that I have only been able to find 3 of the 5 cards in the app. If I find them all I get a surprise. I think I might need the help of a kid to find them. This book is such a fab choice. Not only do the kids get to feel anger but they also get to feel scared, shivery and clever. It is a gem.

National Simultaneous Storytime has been organised by the Australian Library and Information Association in order to promote the value of reading and literacy, the importance of Australia’s book industry and the role of libraries. I would recommend to all to look up their local libraries and join in with 170000 kids around Australia in the reading of The Very Cranky Bear at 11am on the 23rd of May.

Vassiliki

3 Comments leave one →
  1. riverinalibrarian permalink
    April 5, 2012 3:31 pm

    This is absolutely amazing. It will be wonderful promotion for the Riverina regional Library service for NSS! Thankyou so much! Sharon Smith

  2. April 5, 2012 9:29 pm

    Just downloaded the Cranky Bear app today myself – wondering how my ROAR! will sound. Looking forward to it. Thanks for telling us about your experience. I’ll be reading it on the 23rd at our school!

Trackbacks

  1. National Simultaneous Story Time | crankybear

Leave a Reply

