Skip to content

I’m thinking we really are the Lucky Country

March 28, 2012
tags: ,

I have just finished reading Miles off course by Australian author Sulari Gentill.  I love her characters and, like Kerry Greenwood’s 1920s Phryne Fisher,  they showcase the infinite benefits  to being “well heeled ” in the 1930s.  This novel takes the reader from Sydney and into the beautiful but fairly remote high country of NSW.  Travelling through the bush in those times was not for the faint hearted (at least today we can look forward to warm welcoming resort accomodation at the end of a long trek) and as camping for me is an experience I try to hard to avoid, I sympathised with everyone as they trekked through the rugged bush, dirty, bedraggled and targets for elimination.  As with her earlier novels, the story manages to provide us with a little bit of most of the things common to life today, romance, intrigue, a few good fights, food and drink, politics and a plot to murder.  Mostly though, I started thinking about our early pioneering history and I wonder, given my disaffection for camping, bugs, sunburn, dirt, etc etc how would I have survived?  I realise I am really very grateful to those who did do all that and more so I can enjoy the lifestyle that surrounds me in Australia today. Ahh yes, in my fantasies I am quite in love with the handsome and charming Rowly Sinclair, but I do think, no, I know I live in the Lucky Country today.

Helen

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 28, 2012 9:07 pm

    Hello Helen.

    I’m so glad you enjoyed Miles Off Course. I must admit that I’m not a fan of camping either. Like Rowland, I’ve become rather fond of plumbing! Thank you for your review.

    Cheers

    Sulari

Leave a Reply

