Skip to content

The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey

February 8, 2012
tags: ,

Perhaps I would love any book that begins with ‘A is for Amy’ but somehow I think that I would find a book where Amy has a tea party with her dolls less interesting and certainly less amusing than The Gashlycrumb Tinies. Like Roald Dahl’s Revolting Rhymes or Hilaire Belloc’s Cautionary Tales for Children, Edward Gorey’s abecedarium (such a wonderful word) of children who meet unfortunate ends is darkly funny and so beautifully illustrated.

I learnt it off by heart so that I can amuse myself with it at any time and although not everyone is  as lucky as I am to have a sticky end all of my own, it is so easily adapted eg. A is for Adolf who fell down the stairs. 

 You can enjoy it all here. My favourite is Neville, who’s yours?

Join our twitter conversation on Tuesday 28th February, 8pm AEST til 10pm AWST. Use #NYR12.

Amy

Leave a Reply

