Skip to content

my amazing reads pledge

January 9, 2012

In 2011, I aimed to read 52 novels – one for each week of the year.  My sister did this a few years ago, and I was inspired by the variety it introduced into her reading diet (when you need to read books fast, you’re less picky – instead of sitting and waiting months for a new novel by your favourite author, you might just end up picking up a romance novel to fill the time – that’s all I’m saying).

Sadly, I fell far short of the 52 books I aimed for, reading only 25.  But it was still a very valuable exercise, and lead me to discover several new authors I may not have picked up if I wasn’t always feeling driven to find a new book to read.

I never thought that I would like Paranormal Romance, but found my niche with the London Steampunk novels of Gail Carriger and Meljean Brook.  And I found a favourite new author where I least expected – in the shelves of Contemporary Romance.  Thanks to the author evangelism of my friend Vassiliki and NPR’s pop-culture doyenne Linda Holmes, I picked up not one but six Jennifer Crusie novels in 2011 – four of which (Agnes and the Hitman, Bet Me, Maybe This Time, and Welcome to Temptation) are now new, soon to be old and well-read favourites.

So this year I’m going to try for 52 novels again, and see where it takes me.   You can read the full list of books I read in 2011 here, and I’m open to reading suggestions for 2012!

Jenn

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

